You have printed or saved this information from, the website for the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Technology Industries.


Atlantic Canada’s “Strongest Families Institute” Founders Accept the Manning Innovation Foundation’s $100,000 Principal Award

Posted Thursday, October 17, 2013

Halifax, NS (Thursday, Oct. 17, 2013). The 2013 Atlantic Canadian nominees for the 32nd national Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards accepted the $100,000 Encana Principal Award from the Foundation at its awards gala in Calgary on Wednesday evening. Mr. John T. McLennan, Atlantic  Canadian Trustee of the Manning Innovation Awards and chairman of Emera, was on hand to congratulate Dr. Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Dr. Patrick McGrath for the Strongest Families Institute they co-founded.

Strongest Families Institute is a not-for-profit corporation providing evidence-based services to children and families seeking help for mental health and other issues impacting health and well-being. The Institute's programs are designed to work around a families' schedule and eliminate the need to travel, take time off of work/school or interrupt normal routines. They are delivered with discretion and privacy, helping to alleviate any worries about the stigma of receiving mental health services.

"Manning Atlantic is proud to celebrate our Atlantic Canadian innovators," said David Regan, Chair of the Atlantic Chapter of the Manning Innovation Awards. "The Strongest Families Institute helps Canadian families cope with health issues by offering confidential and guided coaching and assistance to children and their families, where they need it, and when they need it. Their innovation provides more value, more cost efficiently, which is something at which Atlantic Canada excels," commented Regan.


Accepting Applications for 2014 Awards

The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation recognizes innovators from across Canada. There are four annual awards with prize values ranging between $10,000 for the two Innovation awards, $25,000 for the Award of Distinction, and $100,000 for the Principal Award. Applications for the 2014 award will be accepted up until December 2, 2013 and are judged by an independent selection committee comprised of innovation experts across the following five factors:

1. Intellectual achievement

2. Uniqueness and originality

3. Stage of development

4. Commerciality/user demand

5. Economic/Social impact

To apply, go to or call us. See contact information below.

The Atlantic chapter of the Manning Innovation Awards is sponsored by McInnes Cooper.


For more information on the event and the Manning Innovation Awards, please contact:

David Regan
Chair, Atlantic Canada Chapter
Tel: 902-448-1416


For more information on Strongest Families, please contact:

Dr. Patricia Lingley-Pottie
President and COO
Tel: 902-422-9521


About The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation:       

One of Canada's most prestigious annual awards programs, the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation, established in 1980, has celebrated the achievements of over 250 exceptional individuals with the imagination to innovate and the stamina to succeed. Drawn from diverse communities - technology, industry, science, the trades and social sectors - the men and women who have been recognized have changed the way Canada competes, manufactures, communicates and sets standards for social behaviour. Their impact has been felt across the country and around the world.

The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation has been recognizing and encouraging innovation in Canada since 1982. By means of a nomination, Canadian resident citizens, who have demonstrated recent innovative talent in developing and successfully marketing a new concept, process or procedure, may be eligible for one of these awards: Principal Award ($100,000), Award of Distinction ($25,000), Innovation Awards (2 at $10,000). Learn more about our Award Winners.


Websites: and
Twitter: @ManningAwardsCA
LinkedIn: Group - Manning Atlantic